Departments

Expert List


Accounting

Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law

Information Technology & Decision Sciences

Management

Marketing & Logistics

College of Business


Department of Accounting

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

Mary Curtis, Ph.D.

940-565-4366

curtism@unt.edu

ethics- related decision making and training, information system acceptance in auditing, and judgments made by auditors

 

Dutch Fayard, Ph.D.

940-565-3090

dutch.fayard@unt.edu

behavioral impacts of management control system design, especially unintended opportunistic  behavior and interorganizational  collaborations with customers/suppliers to minimize costs

Dr. Fayard also has an undergrad degree in Engineering

Don Finn, Ph.D.
(Department Chair)

940-565-3097

Don.finn@unt.edu

behavioral accounting research in the areas of ethics, whistleblowing, budgeting, and managerial cost accounting, utilizing experimental design and survey instruments

 

Carol Ann Frost, Ph.D.

940-565-3069

Carol.frost@unt.edu

Global financial reporting and financial markets, corporate disclosure, securities regulation, global capital issuance and trading

 

Paul D. Hutchison, Ph.D.

940-565-3083

paul.hutchison@unt.edu

environmental accounting, governmental accounting, and cash-to-cash management;  skillset includes  computer and research skills, statistics, data identification, and SAS programming

 

Teresa Lightner, Ph.D.

940-565-3098

teresa.lightner@unt.edu

impact of taxation on corporate distributions (i.e., dividends and share repurchases), dividend taxation,  state taxation and personal tax return issues

 

Jesse Robertson, Ph.D.

940-369-8156

jesse.robertson@unt.edu

auditor judgments (particularly involving the auditor-client relationship) and ethical judgments in organizations

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE, INSURANCE, REAL ESTATE & LAW

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

P. R. Chandy, Ph.D.

940-565-3623

chandy@unt.edu

Identification of pedagogical improvements in teaching basic finance and incorporation of practical aspects of finance to students

 

James Allen Conover, Ph.D.

940-565-3061

james.conover@unt.edu

Investigating empirical explanations of derivatives-based corporate, investments and international finance events.

 

Enya He, Ph.D.

940-565-3060

enyahe@unt.edu

Ownership structure, corporate governance and executive changes of insurance companies

 

Michael Impson, Ph.D.

940-565-3055

impson@unt.edu

corporate finance with an emphasis on dividend policy and regulated industries

 

Imre Karafiath, Ph.D.

940-565-3065

karafiat@unt.edu

Investigation of empirical methods used to detect and explain abnormal security returns and abnormal volume; research in financial markets, banking, and bank regulation

 

John W. Kensinger, Ph.D.

940-565-3511

kensinge@unt.edu

The real options approach--the application of knowledge about financial option contracts to decisions that include choices about when and how to use real assets

 

Ian Liu, Ph.D.

940-369-7197

ian.liu@unt.edu

efficiency of the stock  market and its implications to investors, investing issues

 

Don Neill Macdonald, Ph.D.

940-565-3072

macdonal@unt.edu

quality delivery option implicit in futures contracts, optimal hedge ratio estimation and fixed/adjustable rate mortgage closings

 

Tomas Mantecon, Ph.D.

940-891-6905

tomas.mantecon@unt.edu

negative effects of equity method accounting (EM) on the information disclosed in financial statements; EM's potential  to conceal a firm’s debt; and what concerns warrant additional disclosure requirements

 

Marcia J. Staff, J. D.  (Department Chair)

940-565-3063

staff@unt.edu

Application of the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods; legal and ethical issues of business decisions in a global environment

 

Niranjan Tripathy, Ph.D.

940-565-3045

tripathy@unt.edu

Market microstructure, insider trading, and the capital issuance process

 

Marilyn Wiley, Ph.D.

940-565-3034

marilyn.wiley@unt.edu

Information transmission, volatility and pricing efficiency in financial markets

 

Kimberly Winson-Geideman, Ph.D.

940-565-3620

kim.geideman@unt.edu

Real property valuation currently focused on the determinants of value in historic properties; additional interest and expertise in urban planning, valuing brownfields, brownfield policy and office property valuation

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND DECISION SCIENCES

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

Jack Becker, Ph.D.

940-565-3113

becker@unt.edu

Virtual teams, data base design, business intelligence, cloud computing, virtual collaboration, personnel shortages in STEM-related fields

 

Jerry L. Dake, Ph.D.

940-369-7218

jerry.dake@unt.edu

Process improvement & lean six sigma analyses; instructional research in improving the dynamics and learning of business statistics; communication of analytic instructional and business material and related software; complex event processing and related software

 

Nicholas Evangelopoulos, Ph.D.

940-565-3056

Nick.Evangelopoulos@unt.edu

Analysis of Textual Data.  Topic extraction from customer comments, Twitter messages, news stories, company report passages, research abstracts, and open-ended surveys.

 

Steve Guynes, Ph.D.

940-565-3114

guynes@unt.edu

Offshoring of IT jobs, competitive intelligence, privacy and security of computer systems

 

Leon Kappelman, Ph.D.

940-565-4698

kapp@unt.edu

IT management practices and capabilities, software project management, software development methods and capabilities, information systems requirements, enterprise architecture, and IT performance assessment

 

Chang Koh

940-565-3625

Chang.koh@unt.edu

IT and business performance, cross-cultural comparison of IT practices, mobile computing and data services, e-commerce and e-government

 

Shailesh S. Kulkarni, Ph.D.

940-565-4769

Shailesh.Kulkarni@unt.edu

Modeling and analysis of complex supply chain networks and information intensive services; Skill set includes analytical modeling using Operations Research and Management Science methods and empirical investigation using  Statistical Modeling.

Keen interest in data visualization

Alan Kvanli, Ph.D.

940-565-3115

Alan.Kvanli@unt.edu

Government audit sampling

 

Robert Pavur, Ph.D.

940-565-3107

pavur@unt.edu

applied statistics discipline, especially  statistical classification problems in applications to supply chain forecasting, and to multivariate statistical analysis

 

Victor R. Prybutok, Ph.D.

940-565-4767

prybutok@unt.edu

applied and theoretical areas of information systems management, quality control, risk assessment, applied statistics, instruction of statistics

 

Sherry Ryan, Ph.D.

940-565-3106

ryans@unt.edu

global teams, social media, knowledge management, health care

 

Anna Sidorova, Ph.D.

940-565-3109

anna.sidorova@unt.edu

Business process management (BPS) and business intelligence (BI); business analysis; open source software; IS discipline development

 

Richard "Dick" Vedder, Ph.D.

940-565-3110

vedder@unt.edu

Emerging information technologies, offshoring, emergency management

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MANAGEMENT

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

Ching-Chung Kuo, Ph.D.

940-565-4749

kuoc@unt.edu

applications of operations research in product design/development, project management,  mathematical modeling of service/manufacturing systems, and optimal design of auctions

Dr. Kuo  has a doctorate in Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences

Derrick D’Souza, Ph.D.

940-565-3168

dsouza@unt.edu

Strategic business integration, organizational capabilities, absorptive capacity, organizational change. and the strategic use of technology in industry and education

Dr. D’Souza has an undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering.

Grant Miles, Ph.D.

940-565-3140

miles@unt.edu

Strategic planning, entrepreneurial strategies, learning and collaboration, organizing for innovation (organization design and new organizational forms)

 

Manjula S. Salimath , Ph.D.

940-565-4937

majula.salimath@unt.edu

intersection of entrepreneurship, strategy, international management, ethics, governance, innovation, and corporate social responsibility.  Projects examine effects of national institutional environments on rate of start-up activity across countries; factors that facilitate or constrain innovation and entrepreneurial activities; and social consequences of business activities

Dr. Salimath has doctorates in 
Entrepreneurship & Strategy and Organizational Psychology

 

DEPARTMENT OF MARKETING AND LOGISTICS

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

Steve Joiner

940-565-3085

Steve.joiner@unt.edu

Aviation Industry – safety, maintenance cargo, airports, and charter issues

 

Timothy Kincaid, Ed.D

817-716-3103

Timothy.kincaid@unt.edu

Airline management and marketing; executive and leadership coaching; adult learning; transformational learning theory; LGBT issues

Dr. Kincaid has a doctorate in human and organization development and an MBA in Aviation Management

Lou Pelton, Ph.D.

940-565-3124

LouE.Pelton@unt.edu

market entry and expansion strategies, especially with regard to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation; customer relationship management; healthcare channels; distribution management and retail patronage; business ethics and social responsibility

 

 

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Name

Phone

Email

Research

Other

Tracy L. Dietz, Ph.D.

940-565-3534

Tracy.dietz@unt.edu

Social inequalities; aging; effect of the economy; medical sociology, especially health care and social service utilization;  victimization and family violence across the lifespan; scholarship of teaching and learning, especially assessment of student learning outcomes; homelessness

Dr. Dietz has a doctorate in sociology and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in scale development and measurement